The kind of news that wakes you up with a start, like a sneeze.

OK, I knew it’s 2013 already for some.

It was “outside groups” that startled me. At first I thought of OFA, Moveon and all the activism structure that was used in 2008 but left idle in 2010. But looking at the article I see it has nothing to do with activism and all with finance

Some Democrats have complained openly that Obama’s 2008 admonition against outside groups spending money during his presidential run carried over to 2010, leaving Democrats on the sidelines without a well-tuned infrastructure of groups to help embattled candidates.

Read more: http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1110/44868.html#ixzz14miCNqa8

So it’s PACs and other money shoveling structures we are talking about. Going R all the way.
The “outside” refers to the party, I guess. or the law. Or the country. But what’s new, really? Stopping pretending?