I would really want to believe the good news in the papers today. I really would.

I’d love a sweeping finance bill on Wall Street, but it’s Wall Street which  celebrates and the unemployed shoved under the carpet so… But I love their fallen Stalin statue photo…

The fact that Obama Times calls that “historic” makes me more suspicious

I would also love to believe BP that relief wells are on target (what target?) but it’s the second part of the headline that motivates this non-news to be trumpeted: Stock falls

Shouldn’t the well have been on target ever since May when it was started?

Here’s the same non-news in LA with a more appropriate image

and then comes the outright bad news:

In Mississipi the oil is closing in

The yet to be discovered effects on human health. IRS going after BP’s damage payments – yeay, Obama helps the victims!

Will we care when not just fish, birds and animals die?

Can people believe or understand contradictory swim advisories?

And on the war, predictions are not that rosy either

In NY, the media is having fun with Paterson – it’s budget battle time again

Newsday

Daily News

and NY Post

.