It’s Murdcoh vs Murdoch as we are told the two tales of Rahm today.

One comes from Murdochs UK paper

Rahm Emanuel expected to quit White House

and has the funniest subtitle

Rahm Emanuel, the White House chief of staff, is expected to leave his job later this year after growing tired of the “idealism” of Barack Obama’s inner circle.

Thank goodness for the quotation marks or my head would have exploded.

But then Murdoch’s Faux dismisses the first story

White House Dismisses Emanuel Quitting Report as ‘Ludicrous’

and abundently quotes the original piece that it discredits.

Me, I am stuck with the “idealism” thinghy and the sound of 1000 b0bot heads exploding. (If Rahm left, who would be the bad guy holding poor little Obama prisoner and restraining his “idealism”?

Hmmm…what is idealism? How can I picture it? My brain is clogged by the sheer enormity of it

And suddenly, Steve Martin helps me flush my brain with his

Holiday Wish

to explain such idealism to me. For those of you too young or too forgetful, a dreamy misty eyed Steve Martin sitting by the Christmas tree started his  evolving wish list  like this:

If I had one wish that I could wish this holiday season, it would be that all the children to join hands and sing together in the spirit of harmony and peace.

Very likely because of Rahm Emmanuel, he continued like this

If I had two wishes I could make this holiday season, the first would be for all the children of the world to join hands and sing in the spirit of harmony and peace. And the second would be for 30 million dollars a month to be given to me, tax-free in a Swiss bank account.

By the time he gets to the end Rahm Emmanuel makes him come with this revised list

No, no, the kids, the kids singing would be great, that would be nice. But wait a minute, who am I kidding? They’re not going to be able to get all those kids together. I mean, the logistics of the thing is impossible, more trouble than it’s worth! So — we reorganize! Here we go. First, the sex thing. We go with that. Second, the money. No, we got with the power second, then the money. And then the kids. Oh wait, oh jeez, I forgot about revenge against my enemies! Okay, I need revenge against all my enemies, they should die like pigs in hell! That would be my fourth wish. And, of course, my fifth wish would be for all the children of the world to join hands and sing together in the spirit of harmony and peace. Thank you everybody and Merry Christmas.

And that would sum up the idealism of the inner circle of the Obama administration.

Now, off to the whaling summit, those whales won’t kill themselves and BP needs a little help making room for its oil.