You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 2, 2010.

I will admit I never watched the Correspondents dinner – although I did try to go through the videos.

I was aware of the upcoming event having read in B0botland

Is it just me, or is this a horrible time for President Obama to be

going to the White House Correspondent’s Dinner?

some of the apologists even bet he wouldn’t go

20. Would not surprise me one bit if he skipped it….

… I doubt he was exactly looking forward to it and this gives him an out.

Beltway chatter is the odds are very high that he’ll go to the gulf coast some time during the next 48 hours.

Bzzzt! Wrong! Still, in the live thread someone remarked

59. He seemed troubled. Or is it just me?

Edited on Sat May-01-10 10:25 PM by LiberalAndProud
I’m sure he’s not feeling particularly sympathetic to the press, given the Enquirer’s tripe today.

but it was promptly dismissed

63. I doubt he gives one whit about the stupid Enquirer’s crumbling “story”

As I stated, my guess is he probably didn’t rehearse much and might not have his heart in it considering all the lousy stuff going on with the oil catastrophe.

and one wise take

32. Maybe I’m Crazy… but what do these Reporters have to be proud of?

Their coverage of the Afghan War? Their coverage of the Iraq War? Their coverage of 8 million jobs gone to China? Their coverage of the Oil Spill?

What exactly do these “reporters” do?

After finally watching Obama’s routine, I considered writing something about the predator drones.

I was gratified to see someone in B0botland had it too

My heart sank when I heard Obama’s joking comment about predator drones

made to the Jonas brothers at the White House Correspondents dinner. “You will never see it coming”.

A lot of innocent civilians in Afghanistan also lost their lives when they didn’t see the predator drones coming. I sure wish Obama had not said that because it was not worthy of a laugh. Predator drones are not a joke anymore than joking about weapons of mass destruction.

This dinner is a landmine and I’m not sure if Obama could safely negociate it any more than Bush did. Granted, most of us thought he was more clever and funny than Bush, but the freepers thought the same thing of Bush at the time.

.I was also impressed with the self-awareness in comparing themselves to the freepers.

Some got it

9. The funny, funny, lives of the America political elites
who have nothing in common with the rest of us.

some, obviously not

Anyone that seriously believes that Obama

would use Predator Drones against the Jonas Brothers lacks a sense of humor. :eyes:
The Poutrage is silly to me.

but some note

The girls are 11 and 8 and the Jonas brothers are adults.

The joke’ is a little weird I think.

Some even see more in that joke

Obama has announced that he will use them against Americans
It is his policy! I am sure that the Beltway fat cats think this is all funny. It isn’t!

Intelligence Official Acknowledges Policy Allowing Targeted Killings Of Americans

NEW YORK – Director of National Intelligence Dennis Blair acknowledged in a congressional hearing on Wednesday that the U.S. may, with executive approval, deliberately target and kill U.S. citizens who are suspected of being involved in terrorism. The American Civil Liberties Union expressed serious concern about the lack of public information about the policy and the potential for abuse of unchecked executive power.

and my thought when I was going to post the entry

0. The joke is on a par with Bush’s jokes about looking for WMD at the same venue
several years ago.

.still, the OP needs to defend themselves

So, if I am offended by this one comment that means I “love to be offended”?

A better question would be why are many so defensive here about any criticism of Obama?

In my OP I wrote that my “heart sank” when I heard that comment. My heart did not sink when I heard something I found offensive by Bush or by Palin, but it did with Obama, a man I admire and support.

I don’t understand the leap of how just because you are hurt or disappointed by what somebody says means that you dislike them or do not otherwise support them.

.In another B0botland thread someone posts some photos on drones damages – graphic

.

I guess I’ll give the Daily News cover of the day – just for featuring the startling event of the day in plain words

.NY Post of course goes for cute on the headline – and misses

.Orlando Sentinel features the oil spill and new clean-up problems

.WaPo features – below the fold – Obama’s plea for civility – right to Leno’s photo for some reason

while Obama Times has an impressive photo of a rally against Arizona immigration and  a lucid headline on charter schools

MSLeader

Jane Crow

Don't be bitter, OK?

Not Your Sweetie

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers