You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 21, 2010.

I eventually figured out the source of all the rancor against Palin on the right.

It’s not some quaint notion of “elitism” vs “populism” as David Brooks would have tried to make us believe when calling Palin a fatal cancer on the GOP – because if intellectualism was important to Rs, Brooks, what about this?

So, if anyone had any doubt of the real reasons, enter Babs.

Here’s the delicious account from the right

Barbara Bush Should Shut-Up

Apparently the woman who called Hillary a “bitch” (before the entire media got to it), is now bothering her beautiful mind with Palin

“I sat next to her once. Thought she was beautiful,” Barbara Bush said. “And she’s very happy in Alaska, and I hope she’ll stay there.”

That’s way mild by Babs’ standards, but the Rs who had enough of the Bushes are incensed.

This rant is so good it almost gets it right:

Crap like this from Barbara Bush leaves one no alternative but to respond to it. What, does she have another son, or a grand kid lined up for the job of President? Reagan handed your husband his, despite some misgivings, and he blew it, Barbara. And as much as I supported her husband and her son while they were in office, they’ve hardly gotten us to a great place. Guess what? If not for 9/11, GW may well have been a one-term-er, just like his father. He barely escaped losing to John freaking Kerry. In fact, he barely defeated Gore in 2000.

Close,but no cigar.

W barely escaped nothing: the truth is he didn’t win any election. Not in 2000 and not in 2004 either. Glad to see a R going at least near that.

Who knows? In 100 years or so, some Ds will wonder out loud why Obama got delegates instates he didn’t run or why California was skipped in the alphabetical roll call at the convention.

Yeah, this is schadenfreude.

And in 2012, if I want to cast a protest vote against Obama, I might possibly conceive a vote for Palin. Theoretically.

But never in a million years will I pull the lever for anyone called Bush.

Well, the protest is really planed for tomorrow, but the press is gearing up

Will we have the undressed children by tomorrow on page one? The urine covered man?

It doesn’t seem that Obama “understanding our frustration” helped much

In other news, the Pope says you can be a little bit pregnant

Click here to add text
Click here to add text

Me, I still wonder what business is this of his.

LA Times covers this too, along with corrupt insurers who do not pay

The New York Times is still discovering the new risks of Romneycare err Obama’s unprecedented Healthcare reform

Click here to add text
Click here to add text

.

We are told by WaPo that Reagan’s Star Wars by any other name is becoming a reality in Europe in an article that manages to forego mentioning Obama all together.

So, it’s the blogs on the right that do it instead

Missile Defense Basher Obama Heralds NATO Missile Defense Plans

and it’s a good thing that they put the two statements side by side. Here’s some of the “Then”

“I’m the only major candidate who opposed this war from the beginning. And as president I will end it. Second, I will cut tens of billions of dollars in wasteful spending. I will cut investments in unproven missile defense systems. I will not weaponize space. I will slow our development of future combat systems.

Barack Obama
22 October 22, 2007

So far, nothing to sneeze about – standard operating procedure for Obama. It’s really this write up that has it

Obama’s Foreign Policy Triumph: Missile Defense!

Maybe the Obama plan is different from President Reagan’s in that it will protect Europe but not the United States; or maybe because NATO will control the system; or maybe because Russia is now involved in the plan. But it is disorienting to those of us who remember the Cold War, and the Democrats’ frequently discreditable role in its later stages, to see a Democratic President taking credit for missile defense as a signal foreign policy achievement.

To which I can only say: it’s disorienting to us too. Left is right, right is extreme right – where do we fit in?

….

.

What woke me up with a start was this tweet from Stray Yellar Dog

The link took me to this Newsweek cover

The 2012 campaign is on – was my first thought. But then, I saw the subtitle

WHY THE MODERN PRESIDENCY MAY BE TOO MUCH FOR ONE PERSON TO HANDLE

and I realized we are in the spin cycle for “I am not Superman” part deux.

Remember the spin during the magically disappearing BP oil mishandling?

It started with Not-Superman’s whining

“Even though I am President of the United States my powers are not limitless,” Obama said last Friday at Camardelle’s Live Bait and Boiled Seafood, “So I can’t dive down there and plug the hole. I can’t suck it up with a straw. All I can do is make sure that I put honest, hardworking, smart people in place.”

and it blossomed into an array of headlines

Don’t expect Obama to be Superman

I mean, he may or may not have ran as Superman, nut we were certainly told  he was God’s blessing,and he did – very publicly ask God to make him an instrument of his will during his campaign.

Maybe he was praying to the wrong God or it’s a case of “Be careful what you wish for”, because, according to Newsweek he got too much to handle.

I mean, W famously said – again and again that “Presidenting was hard “. But for all the pampering the media gave him, I don’t remember a headline like this, blaming the job for his ineptitude.

We are heading for new levels of low bars. At least for Penis-Americans.

No living, breathing woman is good enough for any of this.

MSLeader

Jane Crow

Don't be bitter, OK?

Not Your Sweetie

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers