You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 5, 2008.


In 2000 Gore had – uncovered by the media – some pretty cool campaign speches.

One of them had to do with what would happen after Election Day…Paraphrasing:

If you elect me, tomorrow morning nothing will change. The sun will come out as usual, and your life will go on as usual….

Yesterday it was a beautiful day. I am thinking how pathetic it is to think of the Bush era as “the good old days” – but it’s a prediction I made and still stand by.

And sure enough, an entry that was started on weather only, got sustenance:

Pelosi dials down expectations

“We have to choose our priorities” and decide “what is achievable,” Pelosi told reporters this morning, adding: “A lot of it is about time.” She saied that the current economic conditions and budget deficit “are going to make it harder” to do some big things dear to Democrats, like comprehensive health care reform, but said that smaller, “discrete,” initiatives, i.e. SCHIP and stem cell funding, could be done quickly.

Discrete. Don’t you like this word?

of course, Obama made this disclaimer even before the election not that anyone noticed

“Does that mean that I can do everything that I’ve called for in this campaign right away?” Obama said. “Probably not. I think we’re going to have to phase it in. And a lot of it’s going to depend on what our tax revenues look like.”

puma.gif picture by Robbedvoter

In the previous post I talked about the ideological shift that led the dark forces to go for a different pigmentation in their front man.

Let’s see how it was done.

Some throw in our face that we PUMA have not been enough to make a difference. I almost bought that, until I saw these numbers: 65 million Republicans voted for an utterly failed incumbent in 2004. Only 55 million bothered to show up for a far better choice this year.

Why? the pundits told them so.

I admit, I didn’t catch up to it in the beginning. I thought the media is massaging Obama just as their way to pick the loser from the democratic primary as they’ve been doing for the past elections.

AEI alumnus Bill Schneider was saying on Saudi owned CNN:

Hillary is the anti-Bush. Obama is the a-Bush.

It was clear enough, just as it was the early hounding of McCain to the point where he blew the whole media away. I thought it was very funny then, missing the important cue.

Yesterday, while collecting anecdotes, there was one that sent chills up my spine and gave me an inkling of what will follow.

Someone recounted that a Republican she knew didn’t vote this time. he had voted for Bush both times because his minister told him so.

This time, apparently, the minister went bipartisan too.

So, just as Hillary was betrayed by her party, so was McCain.

Cheney’s cousin was the choice of both parties, and Cheney’s toxic endorsement of McCain days before of the election was the kiss of death.

After the 2006 pick in the Congress, there was a massive push from the voters for 2 things:

Impeach Bush

Stop the war

On the impeachment I even remember some confession – in hindsight – from Pelosi – that instead, we need to concentrate on taking the white House. I didn’t get the quid pro quo right then.

As for the stopping the war – we got Obama’s empty rhetoric to appease that part. besides blowing the competition that was in the senate at the time IWR was voted.

True anti-war candidates like Gravel, Kuchinich or McKinney were utterly ignored – when not mocked. ” Fairy tale” was deemed racist – so, faux anti-war was it.

And these were the events that put the likes of Ken Adelman, Buckley Jr and Bill Krystol in the same camp with Michael Moore, Jane Fonda and the anti-war movement.

A camp which collectively made this The year of the Penis. To quote Bill Krystol:

“White women are a problem”

Updating this with Cannon’s observations

Where were the Orange Alerts?

Remember the Orange Alerts? Throughout the 2004 election, the orange lights flashed across our teevee screens every few days. Bad Guys were a-comin’, or so we were told. Many suspected that the terror alerts were rigged in order to frighten people into voting Republican. That cynical assessment was confirmed after Kerry’s defeat, when the alerts disappeared.

and  my own on Iraqgate


This, BTW removes any doubt I had about who Bushco wants to win this election

puma.gif picture by Robbedvoter

David Cowles

Over, at the Confluence , Riverdaughter has the graciousness to consider the much vaunted skin deep historical moment of having a different pigmentation POTUS.

I cannot say “We have overcame”.  Starting with the “we” part – and no, I am not excluding myself as a PUMA from this. I am excluding everyone who thinks this was the result of a fight or a good faith effort.

Sorry if I think it was a deliberate bait and switch from the oligarchy to appease the natives before becoming restless.

You may remember that in 2000 Blacks were the only ones acknowledged as angry about the theft. It’ s when Karl Rove befriended Donna Brazile.

I know because I wrote of it here, long before I knew the name “Obama”

The post was Bush’s imperial historian” and while I cannot access the TNR article the relevant quote is there:

“Roberts advises Bush to embrace the idea of the United States as a civilizing empire ruling the world: the white man’s burden in the White House. Pigmentation–the old basis for dominance–is now discredited, so he has politely switched to linguistics.”

The little bait and switch occurred then and there and Andrew Roberts has inspired lots of good writing

Here’s one pertinent analysis

As a historian, Roberts is present-minded in the extreme, returning at every stage of his narrative to justifications for Bush’s actions in Iraq.

“Although the ill-treatment of the Black American has long been held to represent an indelible blot on the escutcheon of the English-speaking peoples … ” begins the section on the civil rights movement.

So, I won’t be celebrating this little switch from color to linguistics. The imperial concept is the same. Blackwater got a bad rap, remember?

And proposition 8 passed in California – unlike Donna, I think those are civil rights

So, the moment is about as revolutionary as getting Clarence Thomas in the SCOTUS (thanks, invisible Biden). It’s as much due to the people’s will as is Joe Lieberman’s re-election to the senate  2 years ago.

Been thinking a lot about Lieberman’s election lately. Why? It was the first salvo of the “post partisan era” Remember? The voters wanted an anti-war candidate, but RNC and DNC joined hands together, Dick Cheney and Barbara Boxer campaigned for the same man.

How well did this work out, I wonder?

And how can I not think of Lieberman when I see the likes of Ken “cakewalk” Adelman and Michael Moore join in the same project?

So, no , we didn’t overcome. We were overcame.


One more thing: what the dark power did here, reminds me of what went on in the old country, under the proletariat dictatorship rule.

There used to be something called “reorganization”. An administrative switcheroo where everyone’s job and title was switched around and no one was sure which side was up anymore. Like everything there, it came with it’s own jokes.

In this one, a man is periodically swinging a huge canvas bag he is carrying. A passer by asks him what was he doing.

“You see, I have this bag of rats. And I noticed that now and then, they try to chew through the bag. So, now and then, I swing the bag around – get them too dizzy to try. I call this – reorganization”

Well, at least no one called it progress, change or hope.

a comment I also embrace



How does it feel?

Not as painful as the past 2 stolen elections. Far less indeed.

Is it because my skin got thicker? or rather my personal stake smaller?

I was  not an enthusiastic voter in 2000. But seeing the theft on TV, in front of my eyes, it awoke me politically – to a world of pain. I wish to “unknow” what I did find out – but  I couldn’t.

2004 – A far less progressive candidate, benefiting of far more activists support, boasting that he’ll fight against a potential steal. He failed to do so.

2008 – A candidate financed and propped by Bushco, manages to present himself as progressive, gets more support than both Gore and Kerry combined plus the Bush media who Gores his opponents. People who supported him are deluded that they accomplished some sort of revolution. By bringing us …Cheney’s cousin.They are right now screaming outside “Obama!!!”

(I was reminded of that relationship when Cheney found it necessary to endorse McCain days before the election – whom exactly did he think that would help?)

Anyway, I didn’t have a candidate in this election since June (and maybe, never).

That made the disappointment far easier to take.

My guy said that if McCain won, he’s enjoy it for about 5 minutes  – for the idea that the voters foiled the machine. I had to admit, I would have gone for a whole …10 minutes.

So, what do I miss? Those 10 minutes?

I am disappointed there wasn’t more of us to affect the election – though we’ll never know the real numbers – as I mistrust the count.

But so we are few in numbers. Does this make us less right?

Truth is not democratic. A majority can be wrong, and one single person can hold the truth.

I was a “ten percenter” in 2001 when 90% were “supporting Bush”. I stayed still and became part of the majority as most came to my way of thinking. I see this happening again in the near future.

puma.gif picture by Robbedvoter

MSLeader

Jane Crow

Don't be bitter, OK?

Not Your Sweetie

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers